Workers who are injured at work often fret about how they are going to pay their bills if they’re not able to work for some time. The answer in most cases is that they can file for workers’ compensation coverage.
In Georgia, any company that employs three or more people is required to have this coverage. It doesn’t matter if the employees are full-time.
Workers’ compensation coverage is paid by employers — not employees. This is a cost of doing business in Georgia that companies should prepare for.
If you are injured at work, even if it is your first day, you are covered by workers’ compensation. There aren’t any minimum employment length requirements for coverage.
Employees do have some responsibilities related to workers’ compensation. One of these is that you have to report the injury in a timely manner. If you wait longer than 30 days after the accident, you might not be covered.
Workers’ compensation will cover your authorized medical expenses stemming from the accident. You will have to go to an authorized provider for care.
On top of paying for medical bills, workers’ compensation might cover a portion of your missed wages. If you are unable to work for at least seven days, you might qualify for this coverage. You should get a check mailed to you within 21 days from the first missed day. If you are out of work for more than 21 days, you will also get a payment for the first week you missed.
There are several things that are considered in a workers’ compensation claim. Make sure that you understand these so that you can determine if you are getting the benefits you are due and are doing what you are supposed to do to receive these benefits.
Source: State Board of Workers’ Compensation, “Law,” accessed Aug. 03, 2017