Having a cellphone with you at all times is a convenience and a distraction. Many drivers give into this temptation and cause injurious and even fatal accidents.
Although using your cellphone is tempting, according to the Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety, it is illegal to have a phone in your hand or have a phone touch any part of your body while you talk and drive. You are also not allowed to write, read or send text messages, email or any type of social media content with or without hands-free technology as you drive.
What drivers can do
Even though many cellphone-related activities are illegal in Georgia while driving, you can still use your phone to listen to streamed music while you drive, as long as you do not watch the videos on the screen while you do it. If you need to touch your phone to activate a streaming program or music app, you have to do this before you put your vehicle in motion.
Consequences for distracted driving
If you get pulled over for distracted driving, your first offense will come with a $50.00 fine and you will have one point added to your driver’s license. For a second offense, the fine is $100.00, and your license will have two points added to it. For three or more convictions, the consequences include a $150.00 fine and three license points.
If you receive charges for disobeying Georgia’s Hands-Free Law for the first time, the court may drop the charges. For this to happen, you have to show the court you now have a device that allows you to use hands-free technology while you drive.