Charges of driving under the influence can have a dramatic impact on future opportunities. Individuals facing DUI in Georgia have the right to legal representation.
Review the possible ways that a DUI conviction could affect your future when deciding the next steps in this situation.
Drivers can lose their license in Georgia for up to a year for the first DUI. Subsequent offenses can result in the loss of driving privileges for up to five years. Habitual offenders must also surrender their vehicle’s license plates on the third offense.
The fines and costs associated with a DUI in Georgia create a significant financial setback, especially for those who have limited resources. The first offense in the state carries $300 to $1,000 in fines, with minimum fines of $600 for the second offense. A third offense can result in up to $5,000 in fines. You also have to pay a reinstatement fee to get your license back after a DUI-related suspension. Insurance premiums rise for drivers who have a DUI history.
Jail time vs. probation
Some DUI offenders receive jail time in Georgia. Depending on the circumstances of your case, you could serve up to a year for the first offense. DUI attorneys can advise about the potential probation programs available in your county.
Students can lose financial aid or receive a suspension from college or university after a DUI. Some professionals may jeopardize their licenses to practice in Georgia after this type of conviction. Seeking legal advice can help you understand your options in this situation.