The possible penalties of your first alcohol-related DUI conviction in Georgia include fines, jail time, counseling, community service and license suspension.
If you lose your driving privileges as a result of a DUI conviction, there are a few things to know about reinstating your suspended license.
Length of license suspension
If convicted of a DUI offense for the first time in five years, you face a 12 month suspension of your driving privileges. After 120 days of the suspension, you can apply for reinstatement of your license, only if your offense involved alcohol. A judge will not grant early reinstatement of your license if your DUI was drug-related.
Implied Consent Law
After the arresting police officer reads you an implied consent notice, you must take a breathalyzer test otherwise you risk losing your driving privileges for at least a year. The implied consent law in Georgia mandates this automatic suspension.
If you refuse the test, you also become ineligible for limited driving permits.
Requirements for reinstatement
You must contest the suspension of your driver’s license within ten business days from your arrest. The Georgia Department of Motor Vehicle Safety will hear your case.
If the board affirms your driver’s license suspension, you have to remain suspended for at least 120 days and earn a certificate of completion at a state-approved DUI Alcohol Use Risk Reduction Program. You meet the requirements for reinstatement after you submit your certificate and pay a fee.
Although the consequences of a first time DUI offense may impact your future, you can take steps, like early license reinstatement, to potentially lessen the severity.